Recovery

It took a week to adjust to the time here, but I’m not really adjusting to being back in the States. I don’t know if I really want to. I won’t be here for long, and for the next month I’ll be wandering. San Francisco has been beautiful, clear skies, warm days, and it’s good to see a blue sky again. Taipei had its own beauty, but blue skies was not typically part of it.

I read that a good way to adjust to the time change was to set your diet to the time zone first, and everything else would follow. It seemed to work here. I was still wide awake at strange times, and exhausted by midday, but it passed. It messed with my schedule some, but I don’t have much to do that matters right now.

It’s nice to have the time to do nothing, but I think if I hit the ground running I would have been less bothered by the change. I don’t deal well with doing nothing like I used to. Well, that’s a lie. I never dealt well with it. I wallowed in it. I drowned in it. I accepted it. It was comfortable, but it never made me happy. Comfort is not my life anymore, and I’m glad for it. That makes it harder to be here though.

Too many car rides, too many meals, too much food, and too easy of a life. It’s temporary, but even on vacation I would rather be sitting on a beach, wandering the shore, and surfing and swimming whenever I feel like it. Sitting in a room feels like I’m waiting for something that will never happen.

Tomorrow I’ll head into the city, hopefully see some old friends, wander around a bit. I doubt it’s changed much since I last passed through, but it will be good to visit again. Maybe then it will start to feel real.

I’m ready for what’s to come next. No, I’m looking forward to it, I have way to be sure I’m ready. I kind of hope I’m not. I prefer the challenge, to take on more than I think I can, and I’m sure the Peace Corps will be a challenge, even with what I have been through so far. Or maybe it’s just another windmill for me to fight. Don Quixote did enjoy his adventures though.

This entry was posted in 2017-03, San Francisco, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

