The Colors of Krishna

It’s still strange to see a foreign celebration in Guadalajara, partially because of how few there are are partially because they always change once they get here. The Hare Krishna temple had a Holy One festival here on Chapultepec last weekend. It’s sometimes called the festival of colors, and people celebrate by throwing colored powder at each other. Everyone is supposed to wear white so the color shows, but that’s one of the things that didn’t seem to make it to Mexico.

People were wearing mostly dark clothing, typical of the clothing style here. It was still interesting to see, a strange mix of people chanting to Hare Krishna and the occasional techno rave music mixed in. They had face painting, deserts, and dancing. There was also a big group walking of people walking dogs nearby, and a festival for children on Ave. Mexico.

It was a big weekend for random stuff here. Usually on Saturday everything is pretty calm, just people wandering around and Sunday is the day for all the markets. This week there was three or four different events going on. I’m actually surprised this doesn’t happen more often. They have a good location, they just need to organize something like that and keep it going. Consistency is often a problem here though.

I spent most of the rest of the week studying and fighting through the internet here. They are supposed to switch providers, but I don’t think they have gotten around to it yet. At least it’s good enough right now I can do research for school, even if it’s not reliable enough for movies. It’s probably better that way, less distraction when it comes to school work.

Yesterday we had a barbecue at the house, just a few friends, good food, and scrabble in Spanish. I’m glad I didn’t move out of here, I love this house and I’ve made a few friends here. I just wish the wifi would work for more than a minute before dropping the signal. In the end, that’s always a problem here. There really is no way to have everything you need, even when what you need is so simple. A lot of things here come down to compromise, a balance of what you need in the moment. It really makes me miss the consistency of San Diego, but not enough to go home.

I sometimes wonder how much I will miss it here when I move on, if it will wind up being as hard to leave as it was last time. Some days I know it won’t be, that I don’t have enough here to tie me down. Other days I see the friends I’ve made already and realize what it cost me to leave San Diego. When you travel, especially alone, the cost is often higher than the benefit. I find that I have to keep hoping, keep looking ahead so that I don’t wind up staying somewhere for the wrong reason. There is too much in the world to see, too many places to go.

That’s one of the strange things you see when you look back also. All the places I could have gone, the things I could have done never even occurred to me when I lived in San Diego and New York. I was so close, but I never made it to Canada, I never even tried. I barely even adventured at all when I was in New York, but it doesn’t help being at the far end of Long Island. Even the city was three hours away. I wonder what I would change if I could go back, not with my memories now, just with my current perspective. What would be different? I guess you can’t separate the perspective from the experience though. That’s part of being out here too, finding perspective, something more than I could back home. I like that it’s almost always a surprise when I find it.

I love the contrast of nature and the city,

I love the contrast of nature and the city,

Like the sky was on fire.

Like the sky was on fire.

And sometimes the sunset is glorious here.

And sometimes the sunset is glorious here.

The fading light.

The fading light.

It wasn't a large festival, but it was chaotic.

It wasn’t a large festival, but it was chaotic.

More than a dash of blue.

More than a dash of blue.

Simple face painting with a dash of color.

Simple face painting with a dash of color.

There was a long line for the face painting.

There was a long line for the face painting.

I really miss having a dog.

I really miss having a dog.

The Hare Krishnas singing an hour long song that consisted only of Rama, Krishna, and Hare.

The Hare Krishnas singing an hour long song that consisted only of Rama, Krishna, and Hare.

It's art, I think. It was in the Ex-convento Del Carmen.

It’s art, I think. It was in the Ex-convento Del Carmen.

This entry was posted in 2015-05, Guadalajara and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Colors of Krishna

  1. mom says:

    Looks like a fun festival. Did you manage to avoid having color tossed on you? I know you left a lot behind when you moved. You also gained a lot by moving. You might believe you lost more than you gained, who knows. But you are stronger, more adventuresome, more independent, more interesting and interested. You have gained a lot

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

