A Walk on Chapultepec

I haven’t had good wifi in two weeks now. I understand while I was on vacation, but now I’m back and the wifi doesn’t work for more than a minute before going offline for five. I have cursed a lot, and I haven’t been able to do much. It’s really difficult to research anything when you have no access to the world. It got bad enough I went into work on Thursday just to use the wifi.

I finally got all my homework done after much cursing. It’s so bad that my ipad cannot even do anything before it loses signal, same for my phone. I have a better signal through the regular data connection. I just wish I could get it to be stable enough to tether, but it never seems to work out.

Other than that, it’s been an okay week. Apparently I have not adapted to the mountains yet, so I spent most of the week feeling like I just ran 10k. Altitude sickness sucks. It lasts as long as a cold, but you just feel weak and out of breath. I keep hoping that I’ll get the benefits of the expanded lung capacity before I move out of here, but it’s been seven months now. I guess I just have to get back to running to stress my body enough to adapt.

Yesterday was fun though. I went to the international tabletop game at the Universidad de Artes Digitales with the Diplomat and his girlfriend, Smiles. It was a good day. We played the games that the Diplomat is creating. There are some easily exploitable rules that allowed me to destroy him in one of them, but that’s more tactics than a flaw. I hate tejunio, but the Diplomat made a game based on running a tejunio cart that is actually a lot of fun. It needs rules for food poisoning though.

It started to rain halfway through and we had to move everything indoors, but no one seemed to care. I did hear a few complaints about the weather in general. I know this is supposed to be the dry season, but it hasn’t been this year. It got warm for a couple days, but I wasn’t uncomfortable. I notice many people here complain when it even gets a little warm. I guess I’m still adapted to New York, where it’s 100 degrees and raining in the summer.

Sunday I wandered up and down Chapultepec, taking some pictures with my new camera. I still need to read the manual and figure out why it only likes taking pictures of people and plants. It has a tendency to fade out the sky, so the sunset I get in the camera is a bit washed out.

It’s nice to wander around the main streets on Sundays. There are couples sitting at the benches, families walking around, people with their dogs, skateboarders, and a variety of other people passing by. At the monument there was a rally for the green party. There was a lot of noise and celebration, but I showed up just as it was breaking up. The sun was starting to go down and Sunday seems to be the only day it’s acceptable to go home early in Guadalajara.

I’m finally at the point where I can start going to martial arts regularly, looking for piano lessons, start learning to cook Mexican food, and try and find volunteer work in the city. It’s nice having a set schedule again, I just wish it wasn’t so many private classes. I really need the experience with groups, but at least I get to learn the grammar that I’ve forgotten over the years. Since I’m done with vacation

It’s a fun job, and I wouldn’t mind doing it for the rest of my life, but as long as I’m getting my degree in Sociology, I may decide to look into doing research for a while. There is always more to do, and I can still teach on the side. It’s interesting how my plans change as time goes on. Nothing is ever set in stone. I know many people become less flexible over time, but in many ways I’m becoming more so. Everything I see now is something I want to do, and every time I meet someone I want to go where they’ve been. I started keeping a list of places to see as I travel the world, saving locations on google maps. By the time I leave Mexico, I expect I’ll be able to go anywhere and have something close by I want to see. It’s the bard’s dream.

It always looks to me like this guy is being raptured.

It always looks to me like this guy is being raptured.

Street art. It looks like pollution as an angry monster.

Street art. It looks like pollution as an angry monster.

Sunset on Sunday.

Sunset on Sunday.

DSCN1662

As the sun goes down.

As the sun goes down.

I will miss these blues when I'm gone.

I will miss these blues when I’m gone.

The short bus for the green party.

The short bus for the green party.

The rally at the monument.

The rally at the monument.

Rain on game day.

Rain on game day.

Lights through the fountain.

Lights through the fountain.

This entry was posted in 2015-04, Guadalajara and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Walk on Chapultepec

  1. Mom says:

    Really cool photos. Sounds like you had a good week, except, of course, for the wifi.

    Like

Leave a Reply

