A moment to relax.

This trip home has been a lot more busy, and at the same time, a lot more mellow. I was expecting it, and that makes a world of difference. I still don’t have time to do all the things I want to do, but it’s more stable than when I was traveling last minute and having to deal with the Consulate.

I started learning the straight sword Tai Chi form and I’ve been working on polishing my eight step also. I find it to be much easier with a group to motivate me. I really miss kung fu, but I should be able to start up again when I get back home. I don’t know that I will enjoy it nearly as much as I do here, but I’m hopeful.

I haven’t been able to make it to the beach yet, which really sucks. The waves were huge for a couple days, but now they’ve died down to almost nothing. I plan to go tomorrow, but we’ll see how the day starts. There is supposed to be rain on Tuesday and Wednesday, and that would kill any chance I have of surfing. I should still be able to visit the beach, but I really want to surf. I need to see about patching up my board again. I cracked it the last time I was out, but it seems to be double layered in a way that the damage didn’t penetrate to the core. I don’t really have time to take it in to get it fixed, but I should be fine for a short trip.

I just got back from Chinatown in Los Angeles. I was visiting some friends and I took them over and showed them around. We hit Golden Dragon for some decent Dim Sum before checking out the town. I picked up a practice sword for my new form. I hope I can fit it into my suitcase, but if not I can ship it down. I just don’t want to wait for the delivery before I can practice properly. I picked up some tea too, and a couple other things. I really miss having access to the Chinese medicine here. Even the little stuff like the Hysan oil for headaches is impossible to get in Mexico. It’s surprising with the number of Chinese people down there that no one has found a way to make it viable. I know the taxes on the imports are ridiculous, but I figured someone would have found a loophole by now.

It has been a fun trip, all in all. The Musician has just opened his coffee shop and I got to be part of a private tasting. Really good hot chocolate made from scratch, and I love the Jasmine tea. I’m sure they’ll be doing well in no time. They talk about putting in a setup for Dungeons and Dragons and Warhammer, but we’ll have to see how they are doing on space. It’s a small place, and they have to establish themselves before they can conquer and consume the children’s clothing store next door. It makes more sense once they have the room.

I’ve been able to spend some time with friends, hanging out and laughing a lot. I got to see the last Hobbit movie once with the Dancer and once with my dad. It’s good, but not necessarily worth seeing twice in one week. It would have been perfect as the third movie in the series, but as the sixth in that world it falls short. It wasn’t as epic as the Lord of the Rings trilogy.

Christmas was fun. There weren’t many presents from me, mostly due to transportation issues, but most of what I found was unique. Guadalajara has a lot of art, and it’s fairly cheap in comparison to San Diego. I picked up paintings, ornaments, candle holders, and some other stuff. It all survived the trip intact, but one of the ornaments didn’t survive to the opening of the gifts. I’m glad I got my sister two of them. I got a bunch of stuff I needed like a wifi booster and a laptop cooler. There were a couple of unexpected gifts, and those are always the best ones.

I do miss teaching right now, and it will be nice to be home again. I am really looking forward to seeing Sayulita at the end of the week, and relaxing on the beach for a couple of days. I want to see the countryside on the bus ride back to Guadalajara from Puerto Vallarta. Every time I do any research I find a new place to go in Mexico, a new sight to see. I am really looking forward to the upcoming year.

The days passed faster than I would have liked, and I can see that the next few days are going to be just as busy. I still hope to see a few people I have missed, but there is never enough time to do everything.

20141228_163326

Sunset from the train.

20141228_163521

I love the sunset in California.

I love the sunset in California.

San Onofre Nuclear Power Plant. They shut it down after Fukishima. Yes, it looks like boobs.

San Onofre Nuclear Power Plant. They shut it down after Fukishima. Yes, it looks like boobs.

I made a trip to Los Angeles to visit Chinatown with some friends. I love the teas at Wing Hop Fung. Here we see the Hop Sing Tong Benevolent Association.

I made a trip to Los Angeles to visit Chinatown with some friends. I love the teas at Wing Hop Fung. Here we see the Hop Sing Tong Benevolent Association.

The Bruce Lee Statue in Chinatown. They were supposed to upgrade the area.

The Bruce Lee Statue in Chinatown. They were supposed to upgrade the area.

Union Station in Downtown. I just like it because the pilot of Agents of Shield was filmed there.

Union Station in Downtown. I just like it because the pilot of Agents of Shield was filmed there.

Solana Beach from the train.

Solana Beach from the train.

The train travels the coast all the way to San Diego. It's a much better view than from the freeway.

The train travels the coast all the way to San Diego. It’s a much better view than from the freeway.

This entry was posted in 2014-12 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

