Guachimontones

I was back at immigration today. The school sent someone with me, so I’m not really sure what happened. I know I have to go back in a couple weeks and I need to be fingerprinted. At least it’s forward motion. I would probably be more annoyed, but both trips to immigration took fifteen minutes. I expect to take a book when I have to visit the consulate in the states. There was a very nice girl with information on English speaking services in the city. She only tried to convert to Christianity me a little.

I’m still worried about teaching, but it will pass. The groups are easy, but there can be four hour classes with one student. How much can you really learn with only one person to talk to? How do you keep from getting bored? Maybe we can watch The Lord of the Rings.

Tonight I’m off to nerdland, my favorite place to visit. I found a war games group down here. They’re in Zapopan, but I’m hoping it’s worth the trip. If everyone speaks English I’m going to be annoyed. It will still be fun, but I need more Spanish speaking friends.

Often, in the background, there is that little voice that screams like it’s downing. But I’m not, not even close. Not knowing scares me, but the reality is never that bad. It’s really the easiest job I’ve ever had. It’s not boring, or repetitive. It matters if I show up. It actually feels like there’s progress. It’s great.

I went out to the Mayan ruins outside of town last week. The place is called Guachimontones. Decent ruins, but the view of Presa La Vega was fantastic. There was rain to the west, lightning over the mountains, but it was clear to the south. Felt like the top of the world, but I know there is much further to go.

They had restaurants down on the water in Teuchitlan, but the Spaniard and his friends wound up at some tents by the road with a huge fire pit and roasting meat. I’ve had a lot of good meals here, but that was easily one of the best. Roasted pork seasoned perfectly, chorizo, which the Spaniard said wasn’t really chorizo, hand made tortillas, and pico de gallo. Good enough to take pictures of and send them to Herald. His sadness and jealousy amused me. After we ate meat and celebrated, we headed up the mountain as our ancestors have done before us, but in a taxi.

It was so alive up there. The woods vibrated with the noise of the insects. It sounded like bees were everywhere. Everywhere there was something crawling or flying. The best part was that it wasn’t anything that fed on humans. No mosquitoes , ticks, or chiggers. Chiggers get under your skin and itch for weeks. I don’t know of any way to stop that maddening itch. It was so nice to be in nature again, especially without the side effects. We climbed and wandered all over. It would be an awesome place to chill out at sunset.

It was a good hike. The town there is still what comes to mind when i think of Mexico. A small town showing it’s age beautifully. People fishing in a creek. Remains of a lost civilization. Good food, friendly voices. You find traces of it in the city, but it’s like when I think of sag harbor. What it was when I was a child was never really what it was. All the joy I remember has been filtered over the years into pure magic, and I’m happy with that.

It’s surprising how many martial arts studios there are here. I’ve found two Ving Tsun places, Kung Fu, Tai Chi, Kendo, Soo Bahk Do, Qi Gung, Tae Kwan Do, and MMA. Nothing that works for my schedule though. I may have to look into private lessons. The Qi Gung Gruella style lessons are great, but they are not a combat style as far as I can tell. I miss the application of the styles. My old Kendo teacher is here, but there is an issue with the availability. We’ll see what I can do as things change. Until then, I’m going to start visiting schools and see what I find.

I’m getting the hang of the bus system, but it still involves a lot of cursing and long waits. I’m starting to think that was part of the original design to prevent people from organizing. Or its just general apathy and dickishness on the party of the bus drivers. A man just got on the bus to serenade us with song and guitar. His guitar is almost as put of tune as he is, but it’s probably one of the hardest things to do. Imagine stage fright mixed with an ancient bus on broken roads. Seeing that makes me grateful that my life is so blessed.

There are times when it’s hard here. Seeing how poor people can really be. Wondering what it must be like to spend your entire life washing windows at a stop light. It’s hard to believe, and i sonetines wonder if it’s just a side job. The people here don’t always seem to have much luck. I know it will only get worse the further into the world I go.

Most of the time it’s great. Work is easy, I’m making friends, and life is good. I can see staying here a year and being surprised how quickly it passed. The best thing about these writings is that it gives me a moment to stop and reflect. It’s also why i don’t mind the buses very much. A moment to think in a busy life. There is always more that could be, but for now, this is enough.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The mountains from Guachimontones.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Guachimontones.

I just like this poem.

I just like this poem.

The rain.

The rain.

Horizon of Presa La Vega.

Horizon of Presa La Vega. Panorama shot, it looks better if you click on it. 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I missed the lightning.

The road to the pyramid.

The road to the pyramid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The main pyramid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Teuchitlan from above.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Teuchitlan from above.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Presa La Vega through the trees.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

More of lake Presa La Vega.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This picture reminds me of New York.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Presa La Vega.

In latin, yellous florous.

In latin, yellous florous.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Local wildlife. Yes, it’s a black beetle. I thought it looked cool and I was playing with the microscope setting on my camera.

Ants, up close. I'm still practicing with my camera focus.

Ants, up close. I’m still practicing with my camera focus.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Local wildlife. This beetle looks like it’s wearing a shield.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The main road in Teuchitlan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The town of Teuchitlan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The town of Teuchitlan.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The town of Teuchitlan.

20141005_144009

Roasted pork and chorizo, they had lamb also, but for some tragic reason we didn’t order it.

Teuchitlan.

Teuchitlan. This one reminds me of some of the back roads in North Haven.

Just a day in the market on Avenida Mexico.

Just a day in the market on Avenida Mexico.

An old style circus in Zapopan.

An old style circus in Zapopan.

I am both stunned by the simplicity of mortaring shards of broken glass to the top of a wall as a defense and intensely curious about what they are trying to protect.

I am both stunned by the simplicity of mortaring shards of broken glass to the top of a wall as a defense and intensely curious about what they are trying to protect.

This entry was posted in 2014-10 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guachimontones

  1. Madonna B. says:

    Very calming scenery

    Like

Leave a Reply

