No regrets.

I finally moved into my new place. There are still problems, but the wifi is more reliable, and there isn’t water on my floor, so I’m happy. I’m still nervous about the new job, but it seems to be going well. I try to take comfort in the idea that many people have taken this path before. It’s still stressful, and the part of me that wants to be warm and comfortable is not accepting my platitudes. I can’t blame him, but I bought oreos as a sign of peace.

I had my first class on Thursday. It was a small group, but they spoke fairly well and could express themselves. We were doing predictions, and most people enjoy talking about the future. I have a private class tomorrow, but that should be fine too. Nothing is ever as difficult as we make it out to be.

I had a long discussion with a new friend tonight. It was something bordering on being analyzed, but it was a good talk. I keep thinking the word discussion. Some conversations are too philosophical to be anything less. I always worry that I have said more than I should, but I decided to stop hiding things a long time ago, and I’ve found my life to be easier that way.

I’m trying to settle in here, but it can be difficult. I spent several days running around trying to get a carte de antecedentes from the police. Basically it shows that I have no police record. Turns out  I can’t get one without a CURP, and I’m not sure what that is. I can’t get a CURP without a finalized work VISA. Unfortunately, the place that’s hiring me wants me to have the carte de antecedentes before I get the VISA. There seems to be a problem with the system somewhere. I also was told I cannot get a cell phone plan without a work VISA either. Not as important, but I found it interesting.

It was nice to get out of the city for a while. My first class was on the south side of town. I could see the mountains. One of my students said they have issues with massive fires here like in San Diego during the dry season. It’s like being home, in too many ways sometimes.

I came across an old friend too, someone from the first time I visited Guadalajara. I may go with her family to the game on Sunday. Chivas versus Atlas, both local teams. It sounds like fun, but I’m also supposed to go to the Mayan ruins on that day. On the other hand, the ruins have been there a long time, and will probably still be there for a few more years.

Sometimes, well often, I question what I’m doing here. Why leave everything to see the world? What does the world have that I can’t find at home? What is the real goal of this trip? The problem is, I don’t know the answer. I know I’m looking for something, but I don’t know what it is. I am really hoping it’s actually possible to find it. Well, possible for me anyway.

I think that’s what gets me, the possibility of success. Maybe my goals are unreachable, maybe I haven’t defined them correctly, or I’m just lost. I don’t believe it, but it worries me anyway.

I was talking to someone about the culture here, and they pointed out that there is difference between the sense of humor here. People here supposedly don’t take well to being made fun of, like I got away with in the States. I would push people’s buttons, just to see what happened, or just for my own amusement. I thought it might have been a problem with translation, but I may have to rethink my whole personalty here. Or maybe I’ll just keep doing what I do to see what happens. It makes me happy, and isn’t that what’s truly important?

I do find that I come across more people here that I know than I ever did in the States. I don’t even have to go out of my way to find them, it just works out that way. Back home it only happened a few times over all the years that I can remember. Once in Julian, way outside of both our normal paths. Then there’s Kitchens, but he always shows up in strange places. It’s just his nature.

I am getting a feel for the city, and like a wise man once said, you have to get a handle on frustration living out here. The minor complaints I have are nothing compared to what is to come. If I truly move away from the cities of the modern world, it’s only going to become less convenient, and less comfortable. Right now, I have no regrets. There are people I miss, and I just hope that never changes.

Another hidden park.

Another hidden park.

And inside.

And inside.

The southern hills.

The southern hills.

Some cool building outside the government offices.

Some cool building outside the government offices.

These guys were welding as people walked by.

These guys were welding as people walked by.

Music on the wall.

Music on the wall.

This entry was posted in 2014-10 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

