The Overture

Nothing special here, just the beginning of a new school in a new city. I should be excited. I should be happy. But I am just here. I’ve spent too long fighting my emotions to be pulled into what this could be. It could be wonderful and dangerous, epic and lonely. It could be almost anything. But in truth, it’s just the beginning.

I sit here in Guadalajara in a small room that smells like chlorine, I’m hungry, and I know a few places around here. The first plan is to get incense and food. But what of Monday. I have class early, and I’m supposed to start Mandarin lessons tomorrow. I want to go by Casa Tibet Mexico and Casa De La Cultura China en Mexico. Maybe I’ll go today, maybe tomorrow.

I’d rather go slow before I find myself lost. If I go fast, I back off before I’m willing to risk losing my way. I’ve been too safe for too long, and there are miles to go before I rest. I haven’t planned much beyond the beginning. I was never much for plans, they never survive. I have a direction, and that will take me where I am supposed to be. Guadalajara for now, maybe South America next.

I want to see China, not the big cities, but some of the older parts. I want to see how much is left, and imagine how much was lost. The steppes of Mongolia. The mountains of Nepal. The forests of Vietnam, Russia, Thailand, France, Romania, Guatemala, Colombia, Peru, maybe even Africa for a while. My direction is everywhere.

That’s what this blog will be. Nothing too specific, just how I see things filtered through how I want to be seen. I will try to be honest, but I make no guarantees. I’m not here for attention, or any need to be understood. I’m just sharing the trip with those who are interested.

I wonder how far it will go, whether I will simply find a place and settle in, but that’s not what I want. I want to know myself, and comfort gets in the way. There is too much to be done, and too much I still need to learn.

image

My heroes have always been madmen.

 

This entry was posted in 2014-08 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Overture

  1. Flor Esthela says:

    I’ll join your adventure through your writing. Thanks for sharing James 🙂 and welcome to Mexico!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sandy says:

    Thanks for taking us with you.

    Like

  3. Watson: God! You’re just like Don Quixote, you think everything’s always something else!
    Playfair/Holmes [Laughs]: Well he had a point. Of course, he carried it a bit too far. He thought that every windmill was a giant. That’s insane. But, thinking that they might be… well… all the best minds used to think the world was flat. — But, what if it isn’t? — It might be round — and bread mold might be medicine. If we never looked at things and thought of what they might be, why, we’d all still be out there in the tall grass with the apes.

    Like

  4. I recognize many of your pictures. I am from Southern California, but Guadalajara is one of my favorite cities, so much I go twice a year! I truly envy you right now but I am planning a trip in Novemeber. Enjoy everything GDL has to offer, and thanks for sharing! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

